iBlogopedia

A List Things That Broke In (Or Around) Our Apartment This Week

leave a comment »

1. Our dryer. It heats everything up, but nothing dries out. It’s sort of like the difference between a desert (a properly functioning dryer) and a tropical rainforest.

2. The inside passenger door handle of Kara’s car. Now, whoever rides shotgun has to have the door opened for them like a lady’s carriage in the 1800s. Since that’s usually me, I’m going to have to say it’s pretty sweet.

3. Our toilet. First, inexplicably clogged, necessitating a trip to Home Depot. Also, I used the bathroom while I was there. Usually, I wouldn’t be sharing such personal information with the Internets, but I just wanted to say that it feels really creepy to go to a place partially to use their facilities. I felt like I was on a road trip, and yet I wasn’t, I was just a few minutes from home.

Well, I guess all errands people make in their cars are technically road trips, but still, I think there’s a fundamental shift once you’re traveling more than, say, three hours.

4. My debit card, which chose not to function at Home Depot, until I realized that it was just me entering the wrong PIN over and over again (because I’m an idiot). So I guess I should scratch this one out.

5. The toilet again! This time, after unclogging it and thinking we were home free, we accidentally dropped the lid into the toilet tank and cracked the bottom of it. Turns out, this is a much bigger ordeal than a clog. This is a Call-Joe-type situation. (Joe is the manager of our complex. Not really our landlord. He just works for the capitalism scum–I kid, I kid, you’re only capitalist scum if I don’t know or do business with you.)

6. The part of my brain that comes up with hilarious blog ideas that don’t involve complaints.

Written by Greg Karber

February 28, 2010 at 11:08 am

Posted in Life Stuff

Leave a Reply

